Welcome to the Blackout Audio Techno Forums :: Underground Network.
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Parsnip
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    15,336

    Default Javascript Window Options...

    OK, get a standard browser window open in IE... press F11....

    Looks pretty tidy.

    Open a browser window with these options in JavaScript....
    "fullscreen=0,toolbar=0,scrollbars=1,location=0,st atusbar=0,menubar=0,resizable=1,width=0,height=0"

    Looks feckin' horrible.

    Do the same in Firefox and it's really tidy... but I suspect me going back to my boss and saying "tell the client to install Firefox" will be met with an unhealthy mix of incredulity and derision.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Parsnip
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    15,336

    Default Re: Javascript Window Options...

    Quote Originally Posted by TechMouse
    Open a browser window with these options in JavaScript....
    "fullscreen=0,toolbar=0,scrollbars=1,location=0,st atusbar=0,menubar=0,resizable=1,width=0,height=0"

    Looks feckin' horrible.
    Sorry, should have said "press F11 and it looks feckin' horrible".

  3. #3
    Supreme Freak
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lester, Earth
    Posts
    965

    Default

    have you got a link to an example?

  4. #4
    Keepin' it Unreal
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Crackpool
    Posts
    2,836

    Default

    They ****ed this all up in ie 6. It because they had to have the Microsoft logo displayed at all times. This really ****ed up chromeless windows aswell.

    I think they have got round the problem tho, and chromeless windows look cool as ****. Id check them out mate...

  5. #5
    Parsnip
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    15,336

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by IQ
    They **** this all up in ie 6. It because they had to have the Microsoft logo displayed at all times. This really **** up chromeless windows aswell.

    I think they have got round the problem tho, and chromeless windows look cool as ****. Id check them out mate...
    Chromeless windows?

    I'll google... cheers!

  6. #6
    Parsnip
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    15,336

    Default

    http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...chromeless.htm

    Chromeless windows are not supported in Windows XP.

    Though to be honest, I don't think this is what I need.

    All I need is for the F11 fullscreen mode to not have buttons, toolbar, address bar etc.

    Which for some reason it does when you set them to not appear in a JS window.open() function.

  7. #7
    Keepin' it Unreal
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Crackpool
    Posts
    2,836

    Default

    As far as i know, there is currently no easy way round this problem. Microsoft are twats. However, chromless windows can be used in IE6 and Xp sp1 - http://www.chromeless.org/

    However, you would have to hack in a full screen command as i dont think this version has one in...

  8. #8
    Supreme Freak
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lester, Earth
    Posts
    965

    Default

    Try the following code in your head tag

    <script language="javascript">
    document.onkeydown = function (){
    if (122 == event.keyCode) {
    document.location.reload();
    }
    }
    </script>

    Haven't had a chance to test but hopefully this will reload the page and at least display it better.

    Alternatively changing document.location.reload(); to:

    event.keyCode = 0;
    return false;

    should ignore the F11 keypress, if this works you may want to detect ie before performing in order to maintain functionality in firefox and other good browsers :D

    Interested in knowing if this works

  9. #9
    Supreme Freak
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lester, Earth
    Posts
    965

    Default

    so curiosity got the better of me

    it seems firefox doesn't work with the function, but ie does, which is cool in this case

    <script language="javascript">
    document.onkeydown = function (){
    if (122 == event.keyCode) {
    event.keyCode=0;
    return false();
    }
    }
    </script>

    prevents maximization in ie, however, on my pc at least, it requires acceptance of activex... which is a bit much

    maybe you can modify the code to get round the activex requirement though

  10. #10
    Parsnip
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    15,336

    Default

    Hmmm... well, the boys in the suits want fullscreen, but they don't want all the crap.

    But apparently if I launch it with "fullscreen=1" (in which case you can't F11 out of it) then this will confuse users, as our users will not be able to grasp Ctrl-W or Alt-F4. Utter gayness.

    I'll give this a go and see if it meets reqs, but it sounds to me like you're just disabing fullscreen?

  11. #11
    Parsnip
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    15,336

    Default

    Cheers for the help, by the way ;)

  12. #12
    Supreme Freak
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lester, Earth
    Posts
    965

    Default

    Yes that disables fullscreen altogether

    ok, as a proper hacky way, you could detect the F11 keypress as above (put it within an ie detect first)

    Then open a new window using window.open with standard browser buttons, and close the popup using window.close

    But I think maybe the best way here is to cut ya losses.. it's a really hacky way of doing it :D

  13. #13
    Supreme Freak
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lester, Earth
    Posts
    965

    Default

    Of course that method still has all the crap, but at least it's laid out in a standard way that doesn't look like you've just given the user a virus :D cant believe how bad popups look when fulscreened in ie, it's well dodge!

  14. #14
    Parsnip
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    15,336

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by schlongfingers
    Of course that method still has all the crap, but at least it's laid out in a standard way that doesn't look like you've just given the user a virus :D cant believe how bad popups look when fulscreened in ie, it's well dodge!
    Bloody Micro$haft.

    Is there any way I can raise this as an issue with them?

    Perhaps if I point out that because of this "feature", I will be advising our (potentially not inconsiderable) user base to switch to either Firefox or Opera for a cleaner layout...

  15. #15
    Ultimate Freak
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,417

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TechMouse
    Hmmm... well, the boys in the suits want fullscreen, but they don't want all the crap.

    But apparently if I launch it with "fullscreen=1" (in which case you can't F11 out of it) then this will confuse users, as our users will not be able to grasp Ctrl-W or Alt-F4. Utter gayness.

    I'll give this a go and see if it meets reqs, but it sounds to me like you're just disabing fullscreen?
    cant you do that but add your own JS button to close the window?

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Back to top